WA4ZKO 2m Sprint Wrap-up

Well I was on the air a lot more for this one than I was during the September contest. As expected things were pretty slow. The band seemed to be pretty flat, but conditions seemed to improve just a bit later in the evening.

Was good to hear locals Bob WA9M (Lawrenceburg, IN) and Allen W8KHP (Hebron, KY) on. Semi-local Bob K8TQK up in EM89 was very active, but I think he struggled to stir up much activity too.

I heard no rovers active in any direction. Suspect the near $4/gallon gas is not helping ;-) I saw a photo in the September 19th 144.205 Newsletter from where K1DS/r took a shot of a gas pump showing his $100.90 fill-up total during his rover operation…speaks volumes.

I would wind up with 5 QSO’s, 4 grids, and 4 states:
K8TQK   EM89  BAINBRIDGE, OH
WA9M    EM79  LAWRENCEBURG, IN
W8KHP   EM79  HEBRON, KY
K9LQZ   EM68  HARDINSBURG, IN
K1RZ    FM19  DAMASCUS, MD

Claimed score will be:  20 points

Most notable contact of the night was the last…the 404 miles to Dave K1RZ in Damascus, Maryland. Dave was right at my noise floor and I doubt my SNR was any better on his end. We both dug into the noise and made the contact happen. Good ears Dave!

WA4ZKO

Comments are closed.