Reminder – 2009 ARRL September VHF+ Contest is this weekend.

Just a reminder, the 2009 ARRL September VHF+ Contest is this weekend. Starts 1800 UTC Saturday, September 12th, ends 0300 UTC Monday, September 14th (Sunday night local).

Full rules/details can be found here:

http://www.arrl.org/contests/rules/2009/sepvhf.html

If I get time this evening, I will post one of my usual “planned operations” listings.

I have a work project Saturday morning and then some packet radio projects this weekend. So I should be on from EM78pp for parts of the contest. I’ll probably be most active on Saturday evening. I’ll have 6, 2, and 432 plus 220 FM available.

Per an ARRL mailing I got recently, activity for this contest was way down last year. While I think the hurricanes didn’t help, I do think many folks fade away from contesting as the “easy season” of summertime DX’ing fades.

There’s been some 10m and 6m eskip lately, but occurrences have dropped off considerably after mid-August. Fairly safe to say a big 6m DX opening isn’t real likely for the contest. So remember to focus on the other bands. Get on the air, make a few contacts, turn your logs in, even if you only operate for an hour or so.

NOTE:  I think there are several rovers planning a roving “blitz” across the upper midwest this weekend. Don’t forget to keep an ear out for them and maybe they’ll get their beams off the Chicago area enough to hear us.

Hepburn Tropo forecast doesn’t look like anything to get excited about:

http://www.dxinfocentre.com/tropo.html

73 & GL

Comments are closed.

